Loading Events

← Back to Events

McIntyre’s Books

+ Google Map
2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States

Upcoming Events

Events List Navigation

May 2018

NCPS Reading Series

May 27 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

North Carolina Poetry Society reading with Valerie Macon, Patty Cole , Ricki Garni. Stay tuned for more details!

Find out more »

Children’s Storytime – Mermaids

May 29 @ 10:30 am - 11:00 am
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

Join Children’s Book Buyer, Sarah, for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is Mermaids. Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030. About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives…

Find out more »

Caldecott Youth Book Club (Ages 8-12)

May 30 @ 4:15 pm - 5:15 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 4:15pm on Wednesday, repeating until June 6, 2018

McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map
$50

We’ll use Caldecott winners to inspire our own picture books!

Find out more »
June 2018

Children’s Storytime – Summer’s Here!

June 1 @ 10:30 am - 11:00 am
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

Join McIntyre’s for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is Summer’s Here! Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.

Find out more »

Stacy McAnulty – The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

June 2 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

Stacy McAnulty visits to discuss her critically acclaimed middle grade novel! It’s a staff favorite! Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn’t remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she’s technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test–middle school! Lucy’s grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity.…

Find out more »

Middle Grade Book Club – Gertie’s Leap to Greatness

June 3 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

Join McIntyre’s children’s bookseller Anna Shartzer as she leads a summer books club for kids ages 8-12. This club guarantees fun, friends, crafts, snacks and great book talk. Receive 20% off the selected title. This week’s selection: Gertie’s Leap to Greatness by Kate Beasley Gertie Reece Foy is 100% Not-From-Concentrate awesome. She has a daddy who works on an oil rig, a great-aunt who always finds the lowest prices at the Piggly Wiggly, and two loyal best friends. So when…

Find out more »

Harry Potter Book Club

June 4 @ 4:15 pm - 5:15 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 4:15pm on Monday, repeating until June 11, 2018

McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map
$65

We will read the second novel, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. The club is open to new and former students, but there is limited space available. Dates: May 14th - June 11th Times: Mondays (4:15-5:15pm) Location: McIntyre's Books (Fearrington Village) *We will not meet on Memorial Day Students will read Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets while participating in a variety of fun, book-themed activities. This club is recommended for students ages 8-11.

Find out more »

Caldecott Youth Book Club (Ages 8-12)

June 6 @ 4:15 pm - 5:15 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 4:15pm on Wednesday, repeating until June 6, 2018

McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map
$50

We’ll use Caldecott winners to inspire our own picture books!

Find out more »

Andrew Lawler – The Secret Token

June 9 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

The Secret Token: Myth, Obsession and the Search for the Lost Colony of Roanoke is a sweeping account of America’s oldest unsolved mystery, the people racing to unearth its answer, and what the Lost Colony reveals about America today. In 1587, 115 men, women, and children arrived at Roanoke Island on the coast of North Carolina to establish the first English settlement in the New World. But when the new colony’s leader returned to Roanoke from a resupply mission, his…

Find out more »

Virginia Willis – Secrets of the Southern Table

June 10 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

In Secrets of the Southern Table, award-winning chef and cookbook author Virginia Willis takes you on a tour of today’s South – a region rich in history and cultural diversity. With her signature charm and wit, Virginia shares many well-known Southern recipes like Pimento Cheese Tomato Herb Pie and “Cathead” Biscuits, but also some surprising revelations drawn from the area’s many global influences, like Catfish Tacos with Avocado Crema, Mississippi-Style Char Siu Pork Tenderloin, and Greek Okra and Tomatoes. In…

Find out more »

Harry Potter Book Club

June 11 @ 4:15 pm - 5:15 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 4:15pm on Monday, repeating until June 11, 2018

McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map
$65

We will read the second novel, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. The club is open to new and former students, but there is limited space available. Dates: May 14th - June 11th Times: Mondays (4:15-5:15pm) Location: McIntyre's Books (Fearrington Village) *We will not meet on Memorial Day Students will read Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets while participating in a variety of fun, book-themed activities. This club is recommended for students ages 8-11.

Find out more »

Bookends Book Club discusses Allison Lurie

June 21 @ 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

On Thursday, May 17th, Bookends Books Club discusses Allison Lurie’s Foreign Affairs. Don’t hesitate to invite a friend or two to join us! As with all book club titles registered with McIntyre’s, this book is offered at a 20% discount. Call the bookstore at 919.542.3030 with any questions.

Find out more »

McIntyre’s Summer Writing Workshop For Kids

June 22 @ 10:00 am - 12:30 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on June 23, 2018 at 10:00am

McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map
$75

How to Build a Story – A Writing Workshop for Young Writers with Frances O’Roark Dowell In this five-hour workshop, we’ll learn how to write a story from beginning to end. We’ll start by generating ideas and then explore the best ways to get a story rolling. We’ll talk about how to develop compelling characters and construct a plot that will keep readers turning the pages. This will be a writing-intensive workshop where participants will learn not only how stories…

Find out more »

McIntyre’s Summer Writing Workshop For Kids

June 23 @ 10:00 am - 12:30 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on June 23, 2018 at 10:00am

McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map
$75

How to Build a Story – A Writing Workshop for Young Writers with Frances O’Roark Dowell In this five-hour workshop, we’ll learn how to write a story from beginning to end. We’ll start by generating ideas and then explore the best ways to get a story rolling. We’ll talk about how to develop compelling characters and construct a plot that will keep readers turning the pages. This will be a writing-intensive workshop where participants will learn not only how stories…

Find out more »

Nora Carpenter – Yoga Frog

June 23 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

Learn Kid-Friendly Yoga Poses with a Meditative, Mindful Frog Frog loves to practice yoga. And he will inspire kids to enjoy doing yoga, too. Follow Frog’s yoga flow, from warming up to cooling down. Start with the mountain and chair poses, then work into giraffe, cat-cow, downward-facing dog, butterfly, and bridge. End with the quieting happy baby and savasana poses to help your muscles relax before going to bed or starting your day. For fans of Yoga Bunny and I…

Find out more »

NCPS Reading

June 24 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

North Carolina Poetry Society reading with Chris Abbate, Dorothy Baird, Beth Copeland

Find out more »

Middle Grade Book Club – Penny From Heaven

June 24 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

Join McIntyre’s children’s bookseller Anna Shartzer as she leads a summer books club for kids ages 8-12. This club guarantees fun, friends, crafts, snacks and great book talk. Receive 20% off the selected title. This week’s selection: Penny From Heaven by Jennifer Holm School’s out for summer, and Penny and her cousin Frankie have big plans to eat lots of butter pecan ice cream, swim at the local pool, and cheer on their favorite baseball team–the Brooklyn Dodgers! But sometimes…

Find out more »

Liese O’Halloran Schwarz – The Possible World

June 30 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

A richly compelling and deeply moving novel that traces the converging lives of a young boy who witnesses a brutal murder, the doctor who tends to him, and an elderly woman guarding her long buried past. It seems like just another night shift for Lucy, an overworked ER physician in Providence, Rhode Island, until six-year-old Ben is brought in as the sole survivor from a horrifying crime scene. He’s traumatized and wordless; everything he knows has been taken from him…

Find out more »

Lynne Hinton – The View from Here

June 30 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
McIntyre’s Books, 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr
Pittsboro, NC 27312 United States
+ Google Map

Katie Sinclair climbed up a loblolly pine just to see if she could. And then she stayed, creating a media sensation and more than a little trouble for the folks in Jones County, North Carolina. There is a lot of speculation about why the state employee took to the tree. Some think she is making a political statement about the destruction of forests for urban development. Others believe her recent divorce has driven her to a nervous breakdown. But the…

Find out more »
+ Export Events

 

Have an event you would like to see published?  Please fill out this form with as much detail as possible. {Click Here}